Jinja photo walk: Why I didn’t ‘back slide’

image
Victoria Nile PS Hall

After the skies cleared up a bit we continued our walk towards this place; Victoria Nile Primary School, my first Primary School. We were forced to take shelter here after the skies teared up again. Standing here reminded me of one of the worst days of my life. I still remember the fear I felt on that day. It was one of those moments that taught me something about stage fright.

During my time at this school we all had to put on some kind of show for our parents at the end of each third school term. My class had chosen to perform a western song and at some point during the choreographing stage they decided the performance would have more production value if someone with ‘back sliding’ skills did a ‘little something’ for the audience. This was in the 90’s when ‘back sliding’ was golden. Michael Jackson was a god!

I regretted why I had chosen to show off my then newly acquired skills, from one friend, to my other friends who ratted me out when a volunteer was asked for. We practiced our routine a bunch of times and each time I had to ‘back slide’ from one point to the other. Dreaded each minute of it.

On d-day our turn was next. We went up to the stage, started our routine, my cue for the ‘back slide’ was signaled and nothing happened. I didn’t do shit! haha. The rest of the performance went on as planned though. As soon as I saw all those people I decided it was a better option to disappoint my class teacher, my classmates, and probably get a scolding from the teacher, than to embarrass myself in front of a hall full of people. I can’t explain the relief I felt after that day ended.

Standing here again also reminded me of how we sometimes undermine our ability and strength to get past the fears we thought we could not handle at the time. We surprise ourselves when what was once impossible in our heads materializes into possibility.

And that’s the story of how I didn’t ‘back slide.’

#Jinja #VictoriaNilePS #90’s #Photowalk

Leave a Reply

