I am in mate

Behind Bars Source:bulawayo24.com
Behind Bars, Source:bulawayo24.com

My view of inmates has always been an ugly picture. Mean guys, violent, scary, sodomists (soap dropping); the not-so-pleasant list goes on. Though there might be truth to some of the stories out there (which I do not bother asking about), my interest was always in what is not talked about and this had to come from an authentic source. So, yesterday I got the chance to interact with some inmates.

First off, these were some of the few cool people I have met so far.

While having a conversation with someone, most times what that person says to you will depend on the kind relationship you have. A stronger relationship will naturally force more lies and vice versa. Why? You are of some “value” to that person and telling you the truth might pose a serious threat to that “value”. It could be money, pussy, company, beer, pork or even chibuku (that’s me). Humans usually talk real when they are not held back by the fear of saying something you might not like. It is disappointing when that something said is not what you want to hear, but it gets exciting when the words uttered by that person sound like they came from you. These people understood the workings of society on a surprisingly deep level and listening to them talk was refreshing.

They were all alphas and I could sense the alpha energy around me. The way they talked to each other, the way they talked to the prison wardens reeked of “alphaness.” As we started talking my alpha energy synced with theirs and the bond was created. I started listening to what they were saying.

Among all these cool guys Mike shared some interesting thoughts though I am quite sure if I had more time I would have talked to each of them personally. I have no doubt that there are other Mike’s in “prison”. Mike is a 22 year old humble guy who recently learnt how to cook during his time “behind bars”, which hasn’t been that long; a couple of months or so, give or take. He is the cook but had no cooking experience at all before he transitioned into this phase of his life. Right now, Mike is capable of cooking you up a 2 star meal in the amazon forest with nothing but a match box (until he learns how to use sticks to make a fire). He is that resourceful!

According to Mike prison has taught him a lot that he probably wouldn’t have learnt out there with the “normal” people. He was assigned Kitchen duty because of his character and this turned out to be an amazing learning place for him. Prison has widened his perspective on life and I honestly don’t think this would have happened anywhere else.

As we talked, the religion topic got slipped into the conversation by another cool guy, Mike went on to say “I think religious people are stupid” he apologized to me for any offence that he might have caused since I was the stranger there (LLOL – Literally Laughed Out Loud). I made sure we moved on past that topic because I didn’t want the others to start questioning their beliefs if I started talking about religion. As we continued to talk it dawned on me;

We are all humans going through the same struggles. Just because you are not “behind bars” doesn’t mean you are not BEHIND BARS. In law, “a person commits false imprisonment when he/she commits an act of restraint on another person which confines that person in a bounded area. An area is only bounded if freedom of movement is limited in all directions.”
Are you really free? Or is freedom an illusion? Aren’t we all under false imprisonment? Is movement free in all directions? Do you have the means to move around in all directions? Who controls those means? Isn’t that controller your “prison” warden?

So before you think you are any different from those cool people “behind bars” think about your own “BARS”.

I learnt a lot from these cool guys and when another chance presents itself I intend to seize it by the boobs and caress it 🙂

Quotes
“We are all prisoners but some of us are in cells with windows and some without.”
-Khalil Gabran

“The preachers and lecturers deal with men of straw, as they are men of straw themselves. Why, a free-spoken man, of sound lungs, cannot draw a long breath without causing your rotten institutions to come toppling down by the vacuum he makes. Your church is a baby-house made of blocks, and so of the state.

…The church, the state, the school, the magazine, think they are liberal and free! It is the freedom of a prison-yard.”

-Henry David Thoreau, I to Myself: An annotated selection from the journal of Henry D. Thoreau

One thought on “I am in mate

Leave a Reply

